



Michael Ebeid AM appointed as new Screen Australia Chair

Tuesday 27 February 2024: The Hon. Minister for the Arts, Tony Burke today announced the appointment of Mr Michael Ebeid AM as the new Chair of the Screen Australia Board, and the reappointment of Ms Megan Brownlow as Deputy Chair.

Michael Ebeid AM will take over from outgoing Chair Nicholas Moore AO whose third term ends on 30 March 2024.

Michael was initially appointed to the Screen Australia Board on 14 July 2023 and brings to the role extensive experience from the media, technology, and telecommunications sectors.

He was previously the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of SBS, Group Executive at Telstra and in 2017 was made a Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to the broadcast media and multicultural affairs. Michael is currently a non-executive director of the Sydney Opera House and BAI Communications.

Incoming Chair of Screen Australia Michael Ebeid AM said, "I'm honoured and excited to Chair Screen Australia as we navigate the dynamic landscape of evolving audience behaviour, shifting consumption trends and the multifaceted challenges confronting the screen and production industry to ensure it continues to thrive.

As content and technology increasingly intersect, Screen Australia plays a vital role in the health of our screen sector, not just in nurturing local talent, but also in ensuring Australian stories and culture are preserved through compelling productions that resonate with both Australian and international audiences.

Looking ahead, I am dedicated to playing a key role in supporting the growth and development of the Australian screen industry, which not only contributes substantially to our economy but also serves as a cultural ambassador on the global stage. Aligned with the government's vision outlined in the National Cultural policy, *Revive*, Screen Australia stands as a crucial pillar in realising that vision, and I am eager to contribute to its ongoing success," **Ebeid** said.

Screen Australia CEO **Deirdre Brennan** said, "I'm delighted to welcome Michael as our new Chair, he brings a wealth of experience and expertise to further support the Australian screen industry. The Executive team look forward to working with Michael to provide continued leadership and vision for the organisation. With Michael's extensive experience in media and technology, his dedication to Australian storytelling will continue the rich culture of innovation and investment in the Australian screen sector.

On behalf of the Board and the Screen Australia team, our sincere thanks go to Nicholas Moore for his dedication and contribution as Chair. Nicholas has supported the agency through nine years of a constantly evolving industry, and has overseen significant investment in Australian stories," **Brennan** said.

Michael will formally commence as Chair on 31 March 2024 for a three-year term.

Megan Brownlow (Deputy Chair) has been reappointed to the Board for two years.

Screen Australia's eight-member Board includes Michael Ebeid AM (incoming Chair), Megan Brownlow (Deputy Chair), Marta Dusseldorp, Sacha Horler, Helen Leake AM, Deborah Mailman AM, Nicholas Pickard, Pallavi Sharda.

ENDS

L

Twitter



LinkedIn



