• Search Keywords

  • Year

  • Production Status

  • Genre

  • Co-production

  • SA Supported

  • Indigenous creative

  • Length

  • Technique


Media Centre

04 11 2010 - Media release

Second intake of filmmakers offered a Springboard towards their first feature

Screen Australia today announced the six teams selected for the second Springboard: Short Film Initiative.

Springboard targets filmmaking teams who are one step away from making their first professional feature film by offering them a unique opportunity to define, write and produce a short film that acts as a calling card to their proposed feature project.

The six successful teams are:

  • Leanne Tonkes (p), Steve Kearney (p), Anna Broinowski (w/d) with political satire Please Explain
  • Lizzette Atkins (p), Sophie Edelstein (w), Eddie Martin (d) with biopic Bon Scott
  • Sheila Jayadev (p), Matthew Zeremes (w), Oliver Torr (w), Martha Goddard (d) with drama The Last Hurrah
  • Jannine Barnes (p), Grant Scicluna (w/d) with psychological thriller Scratch the Surface
  • Annmaree Bell (p), CJ Johnson (w/d) with caper Cat Night Morning
  • Ross Hutchens (p), Tenille Kennedy (co-p), Ben Young (w/d) with mystery/psychological thriller Dieback

“Last year’s inaugural Springboard was a rich experience for participants and the short films are now in various stages of production” said Martha Coleman, Head of Development at Screen Australia. “We’re proud to offer the same stepping stone to this talented group of filmmaking teams to help them build a long-term professional filmmaking career. The quality of submissions was very high and suggests the future of Australian filmmaking is healthy.”

The six selected teams will take part in two high-level workshops to develop and hone a short film proposal from scratch, and to revisit the feature script. Following these stages, Screen Australia will select the three most promising short film projects to go into production with a budget of up to $150,000.

Springboard will be run by screenwriting teachers and script consultants Simon van der Borgh and Jonathan Rawlinson. Simon and Jonathan have previously designed and delivered film training programs for screen agencies in Australia, the UK, US and Europe including the UK Film Council, the EU’s MEDIA Programme, The British Council and The Fulbright Commission.

Springboard complements Screen Australia’s overall strategy to support the production of short film, including the Short Animation Production program and a new Short Film Completion Fund targeted at distinctive short films that show outstanding potential but lack the funds to finish. Screen Australia also proudly supports the Raw Nerve initiative via partnerships with Screen Development Australia.

Media enquiries

Jessica Parry | Senior Publicist

+ 61 2 8113 5833  | + 61 428 767 836  | [email protected]

Lidia Williams | Publicist and Events Officer​

+ 61 2 8113 1091  | + 61 468 784 170  | [email protected]

All other general/non-media enquiries

Sydney + 61 2 8113 5800  |  Melbourne + 61 3 8682 1900 | [email protected]