• Search Keywords

  • Year

  • Production Status

  • Genre

  • Co-production

  • SA Supported

  • Indigenous creative

  • Length

  • Technique



07 12 2017 - Media release

Screen Australia congratulates 2017 AACTA Award recipients


The cast and crew of Lion pose with the AACTA Award for Best Film Presented By Foxtel during the 7th AACTA Awards / Photo credit Cole Bennetts Getty Images

Screen Australia congratulates all the cast, crew and creative teams whose work was recognised at this year’s AACTA Awards.

“It’s incredible to see 16 Screen Australia supported titles amongst those awarded by AACTA this year and I’d like to offer our congratulations to all recipients and nominees. Particular mention must be made to the team behind Lion, now the fifth highest-earning Australian film of all time at the local box office, who took home an astounding 12 awards from 12 nominations. Also thrilled for the teams behind Ali’s Wedding and Hounds of Love for their deserved wins,” said Screen Australia CEO, Graeme Mason.

“Australian television drama production has enjoyed a record year and we’re pleased to see high-quality series like Seven Types of Ambiguity, Sunshine and Wake in Fright recognised by AACTA. The range of stories our talented creatives bring to the screen is reflected in the award wins for documentaries Casting JonBenet, Whiteley and War on Waste.

“Screen Australia has supported over 150 online originals since 2008 and it’s fantastic to see Australian online creativity receive well deserved recognition for the first time this year, with RackaRacka awarded Best Online Video or Series.”

“Our recently published Drama Report shows the Australian screen industry hit a milestone this year exceeding $1 billion expenditure on drama for the first time ever. This year’s AACTA nominees and recipients reflect the diversity, outstanding quality and creativity of our Australian screen stories, which are in demand both at home and internationally.”

The following 2017 AACTA Award recipients received development and/or production funding from Screen Australia. Note that aside from the titles directly funded through Screen Australia, the Producer Offset tax incentive administered by the agency has helped to finance titles like Top of The Lake: China Girl, which received four awards.



  • Best Hair and Makeup – Katherine Brown, Troy Follington, Simon Joseph

Blue Murder: Killer Cop

  • Best Costume Design in Television – Episode 1 – Part One Damir Peranovic

Seven Types of Ambiguity

  • Best Lead Actor in a Television Drama – Hugo Weaving
  • Best Direction in a Television Drama or Comedy – Episode 2 – Alex – Glendyn Ivin
  • Best Screenplay in Television – Episode 2 – Alex – Jacquelin Perske
  • Best Cinematography in Television – Episode 1 – Joe – Bonnie Elliot
  • Best Editing in Television – Episode 1 – Joe – Rodrigo Balart


  • Best Telefeature or miniseries


  • Best Performance in a Television Comedy – Celia Pacquola

Little Lunch – The Specials

  • Best Children’s Television Series

Wake in Fright

  • Best Sound in Television – Episode 1 – Part 1 – Stephen Smith, Liam Price, Paul Brincat, Shanti Burn, Tony Murtagh
  • Best Original Music Score in Television – Episode 1 – Part 1 – Antony Partos, Matteo Zingales


Ali’s Wedding

  • Best Original Screenplay – Andrew Knight, Osamah Sami

Hounds of Love

  • Best Lead Actress – Emma Booth


  • Best Film presented by Foxtel
  • Best Direction – Garth Davis
  • Best Lead Actor – Sunny Pawar
  • Best Supporting Actor – Dev Patel
  • Best Supporting Actress – Nicole Kidman
  • Best Adapted Screenplay – Luke Davies
  • Best Cinematography – Greig Fraser
  • Best Editing – Alexandre de Franceschi
  • Best Sound – Robert Mackenzie, Glenn Newnham, Nakul Kamte, Andrew Ramage, James Ashton, Mario Vaccaro
  • Best Original Music Score – Volker Bertelmann, Dustin O’Halloran
  • Best Production Design – Chris Kennedy
  • Best Costume Design – Cappi Ireland


Lost Property Office

  • Best Short Animation



  • Best Cinematography in a Documentary – Jody Muston, Jon Shaw

Casting JonBenet

  • Best Feature Length Documentary


  • Best Direction in a Documentary – James Bogle
  • Best Editing in a Documentary – Lawrie Silvestrin
  • Best Sound in a Documentary – Ric Curtin, John Simpson, Lawrie Silvestrin
  • Best Original Score in a Documentary – Ash Gibson Greig

War on Waste

  • Best Documentary Television Program



  • Best Online Video or Series

Related Materials

Download PDF

Media enquiries

Jessica Parry | Senior Publicist

+ 61 2 8113 5833  | + 61 428 767 836  | [email protected]

Lidia Williams | Publicist and Events Officer​

+ 61 2 8113 1091  | + 61 468 784 170  | [email protected]

All other general/non-media enquiries

Sydney + 61 2 8113 5800  |  Melbourne + 61 3 8682 1900 | [email protected]