• Search Keywords

  • Year

  • Production Status

  • Genre

  • Co-production

  • SA Supported

  • First Nations Creative

  • Length

  • Technique


Gender Matters is the umbrella name of Screen Australia’s efforts to address the underutilisation of female talent in key creative roles in the Australian screen industry.

In August 2019 Screen Australia set a new Gender Matters KPI based on a headcount system. The new KPI is to have 50% of the key creatives across all projects that receive Screen Australia development and production funding to be women, across a three-year-average. For the purposes of the KPI, the key creatives are directors, writers and producers and the tracking period is 2019/20 to 2021/22.

For more information see the Gender Matters Backgrounder.


  • Donna Chang Commissioning Editor for Stan.
  • Sarah Christie Senior Development Executive for Amazon Studios.
  • Patrick Clancy (Digital Communications Officer) Writer, radio producer and casting professional.
  • Tracey Corbin-Matchett CEO of Bus Stop Films.
  • Martine Delaney Writer and producer for drama and documentary, social justice advocate.
  • Joanne Donahoe-Beckwith Cinematographer working across film, television and documentary.
  • Sacha Horler Award-winning actor in film, television and theatre.
  • Samantha Alexis Laughton Production professional and writer.
  • Melissa Lee Speyer (Strategy Manager) Development Executive for Wooden Horse, writer for screen and theatre.
  • Victoria Lord HR professional in video game development and publishing.
  • Rosie Lourde (Chair) Director, producer, writer and actor.
  • Marissa McDowell Head of Commissions for NITV.
  • Nel Minchin Award-winning documentary director, writer and producer.
  • Emma Myers Writer, actor and journalist.
  • Deborah Peart ASE Award-winning editor.
  • Louise Smith Commissioning Editor Scripted for ABC.
  • Frances Wallace CEO for Sydney Film Festival.
  • Heshi Wijerathna (Coordinator) Production professional.


  • Sarah Bassiuoni Writer and director and recipient of the Philip Parsons Fellowship at Belvoir Theatre.
  • Tania Chambers Producer and Manager Director of Feisty Dame Productions.
  • Liz Doran Internationally acclaimed writer and producer.
  • Anusha Duray Acquisitions Manager for National Indigenous Television and producer.
  • Bonnie Elliott ACS Award-winning cinematographer who works across drama, documentary and video art. 
  • Lisa French Dean of RMIT University’s School of Media and Communication. 
  • Rachel Griffiths Academy Award-nominated and multi award-winning actress, director and producer. 
  • Monique Keller Manager, Original Content for Audible.
  • Rosie Lourde Content creator and actor.
  • Kristy Matheson Director of Film at the Australian Centre for the Moving Image in Melbourne.
  • Que Minh Luu Executive producer working across scripted drama, comedy and digital content at the ABC.
  • Meg O’Connell AACTA Award-winning producer.
  • Rachel Okine Managing Director of Aquarius Films.
  • Fiona Tuomy Award-winning screenwriter, director, producer and developer.
  • Deanne Weir (Deputy Chair): Industry veteran and powerbroker. Owner of WeirAnderson.
  • Joanna Werner (Chair) Award winning producer and founder of Werner Film Productions.
  • Malinda Wink Global Director for Good Pitch at Doc Society.
  • Sophia Zachariou CEO of Bunya Productions.

Gender Matters Taskforce 2018/19:

  • Imogen Banks Award-winning producer at Endemol Shine Australia
  • Sarah Bishop Actress, writer, director and producer
  • Jo Bladen General Manager, Disney Studios Australia & New Zealand
  • Fiona Cameron Former COO of Screen Australia, co-creator of Gender Matters and fulltime member of the ACMA
  • Corrie Chen AACTA-nominated, ADG award-winning writer and director
  • Sasha Close Exhibition and programming executive consultant to independent cinemas
  • Lisa French Dean of Media & Communication at RMIT University
  • Michelle Guthrie Former Managing Director of the ABC
  • Sophie Hyde Co-founder of Closer Productions
  • Emma Jensen Writer, development executive and script consultant
  • Samantha Lang Director of Handmaid Media and current President of the ADG
  • Deborah Mailman Multi-AACTA and Logie award-winning actor of TV, film and stage
  • Sue Maslin President of the Natalie Miller Fellowship, award-winning producer
  • Sharon Menzies Managing Director of Fulcrum Media Finance
  • Pearl Tan Director of Pearly Productions and Senior Lecturer, Directing at AFTRS
  • Joanna Werner Founder of Werner Film Productions
  • Deanne Weir Managing Director, Content Aggregation and Wholesale at Foxtel
  • Caitlin Yeo Acclaimed four-times APRA-award winning screen composer
  • Julie McGauran, Head of Drama at Channel 7 (served temporarily).

Founding Gender Matters Taskforce:

Deanne Weir (Head of the Gender Matters Taskforce), Imogen Banks (Producer), Corrie Chen (Screenwriter and Director), Sandi Don (Head of Distribution, Hopscotch/eOne), Sophie Hyde (Director and Producer), Emma Jensen (Writer), Samantha Lang (Director of Handmaid Media and current President of the ADG), Sue Maslin (Producer), Miranda Tapsell (Actor) and, Natalie Tran Vlogger (Actor and Writer).

Gender Matters updates: