Partner Countries

Australia has partnered with Germany on ten official co-productions: eight features (including four three-way co-productions), one documentary and one TV drama, with combined budgets of $86 million. Two were made under one-off MOU arrangements, prior to the signing of the treaty in 2001.

More about Germany

Overall co-production activity

No. of partner countries 22
ECCC Signatory Yes

Co-production summary

Type of agreement Treaty
Date signed 17 January 2001
Entry into force 12 September 2001
Number of co-productions* 10
 - Features 8
 - TV drama 1
 - Animation -
 - Documentaries 1
Average per year 0.8
Total budget of co-productions* $86m
Australian contribution levels Min: 30%
Max: 70%

* Includes three-way co-productions (Australia/China/Germany, Australia/Canada/Germany), (Australia/Germany/UK)
** In exceptional cases, the competent authority may approve a minority contribution of not less than 20%

Co-productions by type



Please note this information is correct as at 31 December 2014.



Federal Office of Economics and Export Control (BAFA)
Frankfurter Strasse 29-35