• Search Keywords

  • Year

  • Production Status

  • Genre

  • Co-production

  • SA Supported

  • First Nations Creative

  • Length

  • Technique

The first awards ceremony of the American Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences was held in 1929, and the first Australian film to receive both a nomination and an award was Kokoda Front Line!, which took out Best Documentary Feature in 1943.

Over the past 70 years Australians and Australian films have continued to receive recognition from the Academy, with 2016 the nation’s most successful year to date. A record 14 individuals were nominated for awards, with Mad Max: Fury Road receiving nominations in 10 categories and winning six awards including Costume Design, Editing, Makeup and Hair Styling, Production Design, Sound Editing and Sound Mixing, to become Australia’s most successful film at the Oscars.

Browse through the pages below to find information on Academy Awards® and nominations won by Australians, or for work on Australian films from: